My Everyday Eye Make-up

IMG_0882

So, as I sit here with one eye done and the other eye not so done, I realised that perhaps the title is a bit misleading. This is not my everyday eye make-up look, even though it sort of is. I would love to be the sort of person who bothers to do their make-up everyday, and although I do try and go out half decent sometimes those early morning food shopping trips just require stumbling out of bed.

First of I should say, that I pretty much find most of me pretty damn disgusting but my eyes I don’t mind so much. I guess we all have to have one bit that we don’t mind and for me that’s my eyes. They are nothing special but they’ll do and they let me see the beautiful things the world has to offer and that to me is a greater gift then wanting them to look more aesthetically pleasing.

Feeling confident is a difficult one and in another blog I’ll go into things in more detail, but that’s definitely left for a day when I’m feeling more emotional then I am now.

So for now these are my three products that I use on my eyes to try and give them a lift.

1. Eyeshadow, Gold by Giles in Buff, New Look £3.99

IMG_0907IMG_0908

I always base my eyes with a primer, and then add an eyeshadow base. I don’t really have any one primer that I use constantly which is why I haven’t featured a specific one on this post, purely because my skin changes daily and therefore my primer has to as well. So bearing that in mind, this is my favourite eyeshadow palette, at the moment. I do drift towards the Urban Decay palettes as well though.

Meet Gold by Giles in Buff, it’s from New Look and the white tone of the first colour adds a lovely sparkle to the inner corner of the eyes. Beware though, this powder goes on fully pigmented. Seriously you only need a bit otherwise you’ll look like an absolutely fool, been there done that.

I always like to more or less cover, gently my lid and find that the white creates a base for my eyeliner to stick to. The two purplish colours I also use just to add a slight depth to the eye on the outside corner. I find that if I just leave the white I look like a ghost but by adding the touch of pink/purple the eye pops just that little bit more. I do need to add that I can’t find this palette online anymore, so I’m not sure if they are still stocking it. But you could honestly do this with any colours you wanted.

2. Eyeliner – Loreal Paris Super Liner Perfect Slim in Intense Black, Tesco, £5.99

IMG_0897

IMG_0901

I can’t tell you how much I love this eyeliner. I find eyeliner an absolutely nightmare to apply.

Hooded eyelids and eyeliner can be two things that just don’t go together. I always seem to find that with any thicker eyeliner it smudges onto my upper lid, even after I left it to dry.

Because this eyeliner glides on with an impeccably thin felt tip you can control the size of the line. For me I don’t have much of an option but to do thin eyeliner purely because otherwise it smudges, but this eyeliner allows me definition and I think makes my eyes appear just that little bit wider.

3. Mascara, Maybelline New York Lash Sensational Lash Multiplying Mascara in Black, Boots, £7.99

IMG_0904

My mascara has to be applied last. Don’t ask me why, it really is just a preference. Part of me thinks that it actually makes me do my makeup quicker, because if I start with mascara I tend to rub it out and redo and rub out and redo numerous times. But if I’ve already got my eyeliner and shadow on I really can’t be rubbing out and redo the whole thing constantly.

I own approximately 30 mascara tubes, but this one is just             . I’ve got no clue how to describe it. I sleep on my front which means my eyelashes squash as I sleep and end up pointing in strange directions in the morning, no matter what I do I can’t change my sleeping position. Because of this I have to really try hard with my mascara to make sure everything is placed where its supposed to be and I don’t have a massive gap in the middle where eyelashes split in half.

This mascara is truly amazing. I will be the first to admit that I tend to coat my lashes quite a lot, and that means my mascara has a tendency to clump. Over the last few years I’ve been trying to minimise the spider legs that can sometimes occur and I’m glad to say it really has made such a difference to how my eyes look. This mascara is wonderful at not clumping and really does leave your eyelashes long but without the grossness of over mascared-eyes.

These products have really helped me tone down the overuse of all other products and really do make a dramatic impact. What’s great about each of these products is that you can alter how much or how little you use of them depending on the event, or day-to-day wear. I love them, I hope you do too.

Leave a Reply

