Budget Wedding Dresses under £400

I love weddings, and just because I’m not actually getting married doesn’t mean that I don’t love looking and admiring the dresses, the bouquets, venues, just everything. I am a lover of all things weddings, but if there is one thing I can’t stand it’s the price of the dresses. For your big day do you really want to be spending thousands on a dress. Sure that Marchesa dress you saw is perfect but with a price tag of £8,000 there are only a select few who can actually manage to fit in into their budget.

With that in mind, I’ve come up with my top five dresses under £400. Some of them, such as the French Connection one you might not think of as a  wedding dress but to some people it brings out their inner glam wedding rocker. Others look more traditional such as the Monsoon dresses but the main things these five dresses have in common is their affordability.

So let’s get cracking! They are from top to bottom my favourites.

19000490005_large bhs ivory violet front19000490005_3_largebhs ivory violet back

1. First off I need to apologise, this beautiful BHS Ivory Violet Wedding Dress was the only one of the bunch I could find decent pictures of both the back and front of.

Costing £180 and available to those size 8 – 22 this dress is a beautiful embroidered lace satin lining masterpiece. With it’s sheer 3/4 length sleeves and scalloped lace it epitomises a bride who wants to look not only demure on her wedding day but glamourous as well. Coming in way under my £400 budget I couldn’t help but think this dress with its vintage feel had to top the list. As you walk a short train follows you around, leaving an aura of gracefulness as you shimmy on down the aisle.

Style Ref: 19000490005

9014652239902 monsoon Marianne

2. Next up, is the beautiful Marianne Bridal Dress by Monsoon. Costing £299 this beautiful vintage inspired gown remind me a lot of Downtown Abbey. A beautiful ivory colour it has both a rounded neckline and scooped back. The dress feature an elegant mesh embellished overlay which adds uniqueness to this dress. The scoop back has a beautiful addition of embellishments that cross over to continue a feeling of being covered and add sophistication to the dress. The chiffon skirt puddles around your feet with a small train and adds to a feeling weightlessness about the dress. It comes in sizes 8-22.

Style Ref: 7457034622

202812106_1 phase 8 cressida

3. Hello Phase 8’s Cressida Wedding Dress. Where have you been all my life? I love you. This dress would have been second if it had not been the most expensive dress on the list. At £395 it just comes under my budget and I am just so glad. This dress is truly beautiful. It’s prom style, tea-length shape is flattering to most body shapes and the ivory colour looks so classic. With 3/4 sleeves and scalloped eyelash lass, this dress surpasses most of my wedding dress dreams. Follow that up with a grosgrain waist belt and tulle underlay and this dress is a complete winner. This dress is edgy whilst remaining perfectly sophisticated and would be a great number to dance in later, or earlier if you plan to dance down the altar like me at some point. Another point that has to mentioned on this dress is the neckline, with it’s sheer panel this neckline I don’t have a name for, but I’m sure there is one. Underneath the panel is a very typical sweetheart neckline which keeps the dress locking in traditions whilst being so out there. Love it! Love it! Love it!

Style Ref: 202812106

9014614851614 Monsoon Olivia

4.  In my eyes Monsoon can do no wrong with wedding dresses. Here is their Olivia Bridal Dress. This dress is beautiful and a great price £299 I reckon it would really look good on brides who are carrying a little less loving stuffing. As a plus size girl I love this dress but I reckon it would just catch me in all the wrong places. Although, and this is a massive although it could also look fabulous on a plus size girl if the belted area truly does fall in the bride’s waist area. To me that’s key in the fit of the dress on those of us who carry a lot more down below then on the top. But either way this dress is stunning. It has a traditional sweetheart neckline and has floral appliqués which continue up and down the spaghetti straps and along the top half of the dress. It’s pretty, fun and flirty and we fit, on the right bride like an absolute glove. Plus the tulle skirt is just so floaty. I love this dress. I just has to add it in.

Style Ref: 6451134616

71DGO_model french connection nebraska

5. Now that’s a different bridal dress. Not technically listed as a wedding dress I couldn’t help but think on the right bride this Nebraska Lace Dress from French Connection could be the one. A tunic style dress which a lace overlay, it really does to me seem like a wedding dress even if it is on the short side. If I had the legs for this dress I would probably wear it as an evening night bridal gown, but I don’t so I won’t but someone else could. I love the scoop neckline and scalloped hem and cuffs which give it a sense of unity. It comes in the colour Summer White, which to me just looks white (but apparently its tinged with summer) and keeps with the tradition of a white wedding. Plus I love the thought of pairing this with trainers.

Style Red: 71DGO

Leave a Reply

