Johnny Sparkle Presents: Tainted Love at The Amersham Arms

One week late. Still written.

IMG_1088

When you have a best friend who has a stupid amount of talent you either hate them, resent them or in my case pretend to hate and resent them whilst loving them completely and only wanting them to succeed in what they do. Case in point: Louise Curtin. You may recognise her name from my yellowish tinged A Teenage Cancer – Awareness Time post I did quite a while ago.

This girl is super talented at most things like contouring, looking after animals with popped eyeballs, sending considerably hilarious Snapchats, and unfairly being one of the most musically talented people I have ever met. The fact that this talent she kept hidden for more then half our friendship’s lifespan is a point I don’t want to get into, why didn’t you tell me girl? But take my word for it, she is special. Enough bigging-up this post is about an actual gig I swear.

Recently she invited a few of us to a lovely Valentine’s gig at, the artsy and not somewhere, I thought, I would usually frequent London pub called The Amersham Arms. To me it’s totally hipster but you know what I’ve decided I loved it, their burgers were just so good and the live music that Johnny Sparkle (I’m still not sure who he is) provided in this wonderful live band area was brilliant. Of course the promise of tequila shots and my recently new developed love for Kopperburg was the icing on the proverbial cake.

IMG_1099

I have to admit here and now, that I can’t remember or recall all of the bands that played, yes I’ve got their names written down and I will do my best to attach videos or songs of them performing if I can find any, but really there was only three groups that to me stood out like a zebra in a pack of cheetahs. These three were insatiable. Just so good. Of course with my biasness I’ll start with The Baby Blues.

My little Lou’s band, THE BABY BLUES hit off the night at 7:30ish and mateeeee, they were simply amazing. I know technically speaking I’m as biased as they come, but really if I didn’t want to big them up I wouldn’t. I’d keep the big Mouth (yes capitalised) shut tight. For me, nothing is better then Lou, Dave and Mike covering The Pretty Reckless’ My Medicine which they did with an absolutely beautiful performance. The video I’ve got for them isn’t so wonderful, I apologise sincerely as by this time I’d had a few of the old Kopperbergs and it cuts out, but it does showcase the talent these guys have as a band, especially a new band. They’ve been together for no time at all really, but if this is what they are coming out with now wait till its been few months. I’m so excited to see what these guys will come in with in the future.

Photography courtesy of Layzell Photography.
Photography courtesy of Layzell Photography.

Holy Moley, with a big slice of cheesecake can I introduce my next favourites. I pretty much embarrassed myself in front of these lovely ladies the first time I met them as I was doing, if I remember correctly the shuffle, which wasn’t actually a shuffle but more like having a fit whilst standing (no video to follow unfortunately). NOVA TWINS, Amy and Georgia were just “insert word that can be used to describe something out-of-this-world incredible and amazing”.  I hate that I have no words to describe these girls but seriously they are wonderful. Pretty much everything you want from a female duo, empowering with fantastic outfits and talent to kill for and some absolutely unreal beats. I salute you. I’m sorry I can’t actually find one whole video.

CRUMS, are a bunch of talentedness. This boys; James, George, and Ash (I think those are their names!) were so fun to watch and you could tell they were having an amazing time on the stage. However I will point out one thing, and that was until I had a little Facebook stalk I seriously only thought there were three of them on stage? I have no clue who I’m missing from my line-up!  Without a shadow of a doubt they are not my normal taste in music, as they’re a bit grungy/punky and I’m a Taylor Swift diehard fan, but I did almost turned. For me another plus of these boys was one of their mums, who was going round with the biggest proudest smile on her face selling £3 CDs of Crums’ work. This to me is what makes a band a band, their fans. And this mum was the biggest. I, of course bought one of the CDs which is proudly sitting in my car’s stereo. We even had tequila shots.

IMG_1164
Crum’s mum, the girls and me after Tequilas. So cute!


There were three other bands that performed that night, and for perhaps obvious reasons, see above pictures I don’t truly remember a lot about that, which is totally my fault. So I’ve spent the past three hours researching the other bands to make sure I can include them in this post. Each of the band contains some wonderful musical talent and you would be idiot, like I was to miss them out.

First up, MOURNING BIRDS. These lads are totally talented. I really try to be open-minded about all types of music, and it pays off when you see music made like this. The band is made up of Jimmy Gilder, Sam Mitchell and Bill Williams. I find them pretty alternative.

NATIVE PEOPLE, now I’m hoping and I think I know I’m right but they just seem to professional and kind of a big deal that these were the guys who performed at The Amersham Arms. I found someone saying well done to them so that’s a good start plus I found picture evidence but they don’t say they played, it’s so confusing. But I’m 99.9% sure these are the same guys. If so I don’t know how I missed them. It’s possibly I was dancing in the other room?! They are pretty amazing though. I’m totally obsessed with this song, Calm Forever.

WHITE ROOM, very confusingly on Youtube as The Basis Band, it took me the longest to find out anything about them. Honestly I get so confused so easily. Anyways this five-piece band are, at least to me totally interesting in the way their music sounds. I haven’t heard anything like it, so I don’t really know how to describe it but check out this video. It kind of creeps me out in a good way?

Leave a Reply

