Why not Sancerre?

One word. Sancerre! Oo la la, c’était très bien. Quick grab a pen and write that name down, yes it has to do with a extraordinary wine, yes you do get to drink it whilst you’re there with the added bonus of looking out at some of the most magnifique views in France.

Lovingly nestled on the top of a hill, Sancerre overlooks the beautiful Loire Valley and proves that wine tastes even better when drank at its source. Sancerre itself has a pretty medieval feel to it, although this is not in the cold and harsh way that some places are. In fact it’s pretty much the polar opposite to cold – with it’s gentle off white stone it oozes charm and atmosphere.

From Orléans it took about an 1 hour and 3/4 to get there, but we did get joyfully lost for a good twenty minutes. The drive isn’t too bad and if you’re lucky enough to take the main road it’s simply a doodle – although watch out for some Sunday drivers along the D955, they seem to be everywhere.

The best place to start in Sancerre which of course we didn’t do was head to the Office de Tourisme first, which is located along the Ramparts des Augustins. Honestly if I’d for a second used my brain and remembered it’s always easier to explore a place with a map then potentially we wouldn’t of struggled with one of our main problems – opening times! The Office de Tourisme itself is located opposite a wonderful panorama, trust me you’ll know when you get there. The map they give you gives you a route for Sancerre as well as a restaurant guide.

Hello view from the Ramparts des Augustins.
Hello view from the Ramparts des Augustins.

Speaking of food. Woweee! I know I can hardly be the food critic of Sancerre as technically I’ve only been to one restaurant but hello there Auberge Joseph Mellot, potentially the scrummiest food I’ve had yet in France. It was amazing. Ah-maz-ing. The food was simple but beautifully prepared, cooked and presented. Yum! To visit their website click here!

To be honest there isn’t really too much more to say, I spent most of my time lounging enjoying the sun, the wine – which I will add seems to be a whole lot drier than the Sancerre I’m used to in England but it was gorgeous, and not to mention the food. One massive tip I would hand out freely is planning. When we went the Maison de Sancerre and the Tour (which is a tower with an apparently stunning view) were both closed. So check them out first. From what I’ve literally just researched timings go somewhere between 10am – 12pm and then restarting at 3pm for the Tour, but the Maision de Sancerre seems to be out of season until September!

This witch was sitting outside a beautiful wine Sancerre wine shop. I'm still not too sure why, or why she is holding a plug but I'm impressed.
This witch was sitting outside a beautiful wine Sancerre wine shop. I’m still not too sure why, or why she is holding a plug but I’m impressed.
This little beauty was sitting outside a restaurant. It was for a wedding and this two beautifully dressed (and beautiful) Frenchmen hopped in it and sped off. I'm so jealous!
This little beauty was sitting outside a restaurant. It was for a wedding and this two beautifully dressed (and beautiful) Frenchmen hopped in it and sped off. I’m so jealous!
Sancerre2014_01
Hello little harp. This little nugget we found as we were driving round getting more and more lost. Placed on top of a roundabout I still can’t actually tell you whereabouts it was?!
Another little panorama.
Another little panorama.
Leave a Reply

