Bonjour Orléans

Welcome, welcome. Day two of the Loire Valley sees us leave Reims and head to Orléans. To be honest I wasn’t holding out much for this city and realistically we decided to use this as a base to get to other places (more about them tomorrow). However when we arrived, checked in and began walking around I can safely say I am amazed. I think I’m in love with this city. With it’s cream and off-white buildings and tram lines that run every which way it is such an amazing city. I almost, almost think more highly of it then Paris. Almost – although it is cleaner and smells better I’m still a sucker for the City of Love.

Joan of Arc or Jeanne d’Arc is a main and recurrent feature in Orléans, and there are memories and sites dedicated to her dotted around wherever you walk. My favourite was the statue of her which is located in a beautiful square which with a carousel and foodie music market. This square is a great place to start your day and what’s even better is that if you’re travelling by car, there’s a car park entrance which leads directly under the square. Plus there are an enormous amount of restaurants in the surrounding area, and if like me you only think about what you’re next meal will be this place is perfection.

Hello Joan of Arc, looking pretty flash there.
Hello Joan of Arc, looking pretty flash there.

If you continue down the Rue Jeanne d’Arc you will come across the next massive and out of this world cathedral which is simply jaw-dropping. From the outside it’s impressive enough but inside with it’s many stained glass windows and unbelievably high ceilings its where the magic truly begins. Although if I’m honest after a while I was wondering how on earth they could keep a place like the Cathedrale Saint Croix clean…This cathedral is beautiful and should definitely not be missed.

Woweee. The Cathedrale Saint Croix is amazing both inside and out.
Woweee. The Cathedrale Saint Croix is amazing both inside and out.
Cathedrale Saint Croix
Cathedrale Saint Croix
This gorgeous stain glass window is just one of the many in the Cathedrale Ste- Croix.
This gorgeous stain glass window is just one of the many in the Cathedrale Ste- Croix.

There is so much to do in Orléans and really I wouldn’t say a day is enough to do everything in. I’m hoping tomorrow after our scheduled Chateaux stops I’ll be able to pop back and go and explore the Maison Jeanne d’Arc which apparently recreates the life of Joan of Arc. I can’t wait. Until then here are a couple of photographs of Orléans that I just couldn’t leave out.

The cutest police station that could possibly exist.
The cutest police station that could possibly exist.
Some of the houses in this city are simply gorgeous.
Some of the houses in this city are simply gorgeous.
Love this wall mural, I have no idea if it means anything but wow.
Love this wall mural, I have no idea if it means anything but wow.
Leave a Reply

